304927

Alternative Dispute Resolution in the New Normal – The Steady Rise of Arbitration and Mediation

ONLINE, WEBINAR

18.08.2020

  • Imprimir
  • 2020-08-18 08:30:00 2020-08-18 18:00:00 Europe/London Alternative Dispute Resolution in the New Normal – The Steady Rise of Arbitration and Mediation ONLINE, WEBINAR UIA
    Añadir a mi calendario

Presentación

Joint Webinar by UIA and LAWASIA
"Alternative Dispute Resolution in the New Normal:
The Steady Rise of Arbitration and Mediation"

Tuesday, August 18 from 10:00 AM CEST to 11:00 AM CEST
Free of charge Webinar subject to compulsory registration

 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email explaining how to join the webinar

18:00 - 19:00 (Australian Eastern Standard Time – Sydney time)
17:00 - 18:00 (Tokyo/Seoul)
16:00 - 17:00 (Hong Kong/Singapore/KL/Beijing)
13:30 - 14:30 (Delhi/Colombo)
12:00 - 13:00 (Dubai / Doha)
11:00 - 12:00 (Istanbul, Beirut, Jerusalem, Cairo, Nairobi)
10:00 - 11:00 (Berlin/Paris/Vienna/Johannesburg)
09:00 - 10:00 (London / Lisbon/ Algiers/ Tunis)

UIA and LAWASIA are proud to present details of our upcoming collaboration: Alternative Dispute Resolution in the New Normal – The Steady Rise of Arbitration and Mediation. We warmly invite our members and friends to register for this unique event, and join us as we explore pertinent issues arising in ADR from a multi-jurisdictional legal perspective.

As the world emerges from the COVID pandemic and adjusts to the altered legal landscape that will follow, many have suggested that arbitration and mediation will continue to rise to the forefront. Even before the crisis, jurisdictions worldwide have seen increased acceptance of international arbitration to resolve cross-border disputes as well as broader interest in international mediation.

The recent signing of the Singapore Mediation Convention augurs still greater reliance on mediation in large part because it promises to facilitate enforcement of resulting settlement agreements.

In light of the realities of the post-COVID legal world, the flexibility and adaptability of the arbitration and mediation processes suggest that both may reach new heights if their advocates and practitioners know how to adapt to the “new normal."

In this first joint webinar by LAWASIA and UIA (Union Internationale des Avocats), experts from both organisations will address the promise and the pitfalls of arbitration and mediation in the post-COVID world.


Opening Remarks:

• Chunghwan CHOI, LAWASIA President, Chairman of the International Association of Korean Lawyers (IAKL), Lee & Ko, Seoul, Korea
• Jerry ROTH, UIA President, Munger Tolles & Olson, San Francisco, CA, USA

Moderators:

• Dr Pinky ANAND, Chair of ADR Subcommittee – LAWASIA, Senior Advocate – Supreme Court of India, New Delhi, India
• Georges FEGHALI, President of the UIA Mediation & Conflict Prevention commission, World Bank Regional Mediator, Beirut, Lebanon
 

Speakers:

• Malathi DAS, LAWASIA Past President, Director, Joyce A. Tan & Partners LLC, Singapore
• Thomas GAULTIER, Vice-President of the UIA Mediation & Conflict Prevention commission, Abreu Advogados, Lisbon, Portugal
• Patricia Ann PETERSON, Past President of the UIA International Arbitration commission, Independent Arbitrator, Peterson//ADR, Paris, France
• Ms Sae Youn KIM, Partner, Kim & Chang, Seol, South Korea

                                                                                                                                                                              

LAWASIA,  The Law Association for Asia and the Pacific, is a regional association of lawyers, judges, jurists and legal organisations, which advocates for the interests and concerns of the Asia Pacific legal profession. For over fifty years, LAWASIA has operated as a platform to promote the cross-jurisdictional exchange of legal knowledge; as a voice of the legal profession; and as a conduit for encouraging adherence to mutually-held principles of the rule of law, professional integrity and the protection of human rights. Visit the website: www.lawasia.asn.au/

UIA (Union International des Avocats - International Association of Lawyers) is the global and multicultural organisation for the legal profession, established in 1927 and now with members in 110 countries. UIA facilitates professional development and international exchange of information and ideas, promotes the rule of law, defends the independence and freedom of lawyers worldwide, and emphasizes friendship, collegiality and networking among members.

                                                                                                                                                                                

Lugar

Information and Registration

Destination

Homologación

la UIA ha obtenido las siguientes homologaciónes :

Documentos útiles

Socios

Ver más Mostrar menos